Month: October 2009

  • My boss is screwing with me…

    …I just can’t prove it.

    You’ll recall, I gave her notice at the beginning of the week, offering to stay and work early mornings before the store opened, but no more than that. So she did the schedule for next week, the week she is on vacation, and basically turned it upside down. I am working all kinds of F’d up hours while she is away. So I can’t prove that she’s messing with me because of my giving notice, but I can’t completely dismiss it either. She may just be taking advantage of my current availability to fill in the blanks while she is gone. Or she may be using my current availability to “stick it to me” for giving notice.

    I gave her my new availability for November yesterday. She comes back from vacation the end of next week, just in time to do the new schedule for the following week. She had best adhere to the availability I gave her if she wants me to stay, or I’ll leave and that will be the end of it. Of course, I don’t think she really did any inquiry into whether my offer would be kosher with the powers that be. It’s quite possible that when she comes back, she’ll ask our evil overlords whether I can work the inventory without running the gauntlet of make and key sales. (don’t ask) She may come back and say I need to work the floor at least a few hours a week. To which I will say (hell) no. I’m tired of bending over backwards for this company and being asked to bend just a little bit further. If they want my services, they’ll cave to my demands. I’ll not be treated like I am indispensable one minute and useless the next. From now on, I will do only what I am comfortable doing, what I do damn well BTW, and if that’s not enough, they can kiss my a$$ as I walk out the door.

    In other news, it’s raining, and I have a horrific headache. I’ve taken all sorts of painkillers, drunk enough coke to make me nauseous, applied peppermint oil three times, wore a coldpack until it thawed, and am now chewing gum. The gum helped more than anything else. If I didn’t have to go to work tonight, I’d take some of my stepdad’s prescription pain meds from his recent surgery and just pass out for the rest of the day. Seven to eleven-thirty? What a waste of my time.

    I’m worried that the postponed yardsale will become the canceled yardsale if it’s still raining tomorrow. I’m hoping to make at least $50 so I can give it to my mother to help remodel the bathroom (before the toilet falls through the floor). They say centipedes and mice are good indicators of problems, but I think the mushy floor in and around the sink and toilet are a pretty good sign that our bathroom is attempting to become an outhouse.

  • there’s always work for the wicked

    Yesterday I gave “partial” notice at work. Today I signed up for Nanowrimo.

    Yesterday, my first day back from vacation, I told my boss I could no longer do my job as supervisor… that I could not handle the sales aspect of the job any longer. I told her the stress was simply too much, especially with the seasonal train wreck that is the holiday season on its way to put a whole new layer of stress on the mess that is my job. And having been in a car accident last year due to the insanity of the holiday mall traffic, I do not want to go anywhere near the mall as we head into December. The traffic around the malls is already sticky and it’s only mid-October.

    Then, being the glutton for punishment that I am, I offered to continue to do my job, part time. Essentially, I offered to come in only in the early morning before the store opened, working up until the store opened and no more than that and allowing me to leave work in a direction which is not traffic heavy at that time of the AM. This was my ultimatum, that I do this or in two weeks’ time leave entirely. My boss seemed eager to accept the deal. This would save her payroll and effort (she’d have to do my job otherwise), and it’s no secret that I am at the end of my rope in so far as dealing with the public and the corporate BS is concerned. However, she has to get the okay from her bosses and therein lies the possibility that at the end of two weeks I will no longer be working at Borders.

    To which I say… Oh Well.

    To be honest, while it would make my life easier and allow me to go longer without finding a “real job” to replace this one if/when I lose it, I would be just as happy to leave Borders and never darken its doors again. To the extent that I am disillusioned with all large corporate stores, I question whether I would even sell anything I wrote in a Borders or Barnes and Noble. But that would just be cutting my own throat. I’d probably sell my books there; I just would never do a signing in one.

    This move is for the most part to deal with the inexorable stress that’s been plaguing me since Borders decided to restructure its sales plan and lay a whole heap of extra duties on the plates of its employees, while at the same time robbing us of various benefits including the possibility of raises this year and any matching on our 401Ks. This is not just my perception of things… like many stores we have CSI coupons which are randomly distributed to our customers. One of our customers specifically requested in the comment portion of her questionnaire that Borders employees “not be forced to do anything beneath their dignity.”

    So many things about the job is currently beneath our dignity. Do I care if “they” find this blog and use it as reason not to continue to employ me in the capacity I have offered? No… not really. As I said, leaving the job would be a relief. I only offered to work mornings as a courtesy. My opinion of the company has not changed. Besides, I’m not a morning person. I am a night owl. I’d rather not get up at 5AM five days a week if I can help it. The money would be helpful; the stress, not so much.

    I swear I was not even thinking of November being Nanowrimo month when I made this decision, but since it is, I signed up. One of the reasons I’m giving up my position at work (besides the stress) is so that I can write more. So Nanowrimo is a logical step, right? I need to practice typing Nanowrimo. It does not fall trippingly from the fingers. Anyone else doing Nanowrimo this year? We can be writing buddies if you like.

  • Scrumptious Delights for the Yard Sale

    Though the yard sale is postponed till next Sunday because of the rain, I made various scrumptious deserts to sell (which are now taking up space in the freezer). The first of these are some pumpkin pies. I made one plain and two cranberry-hazelnut pumpkin pies. I’m not a big fan of pumpkin pie, which is why I came up with this alternative. Actually a found a similar recipe a few years ago and tweaked it. My cranberry-hazelnut layer’s a lot bigger than the original recipe. heh



    I don’t use puree from a can, so first I had to find a big pumpkin. I got this long neck pumpkin at a farm. To be honest, it looked like a squash of some type, but the farm swore it was a pumpkin. It’s a better pumpkin to buy if you intend to make pie because the neck contains no stringy guts to cut out. The round bit at the bottom does have some guts and seeds, but not nearly so much as a regular pumpkin, so if you like the seeds as well, a regular pumpkin might be better. I did get a few seeds, but only as much as would fill a small bowl.

    Pumpkin puree is a gooey, messy business. Cleaning a pumpkin in itself is pretty messy, making puree just prolongs that. First wash the pumpkin, then take a big psycho knife and cut it into wedges. The thicker the wedge, the longer it will take to cook. So if you’re making puree with the long neck pumpkin, the neck parts are going to take a little bit longer to cook through than any wedges from the “bulb.” Arrange the wedges on several baking trays. You can line them with wax paper first. Bake at 325 F for the first hour, then for approximately 2 more hours at 300 F. I say approximately because depending upon the thickness of the pieces, it may be closer to one hour. So check after that first hour at 300 F to see if the thinner pieces are done. I also flip the pieces when I turn the temperature down, though that’s not really necessary.

    When the pieces are cooked through, set them aside to cool for a bit, otherwise you will burn your fingers trying to detach skin from flesh. Of course, if it’s really cold, you don’t have to wait too long to warm your fingers on warm pumpkin wedges. You may want to use a knife to get rid of any harder bits that have been overcooked by their time in the oven, but I find just squeezing the flesh under the skin is sufficient to pull it away from the pumpkin flesh, which is another good reason to let the pumpkin cool before starting. Once you have the cleaned pumpkin flesh set aside, put it in a food processor or blender. Depending upon how much pumpkin you’ve gotten at this point, you may want to do this in batches. One cup of puree will be sufficient for one pie according to my recipe, but you may have your own way of doing things. When I finished cooking and cleaning my long neck pumpkin, I had approximately five cups of pureed pumpkin flesh. I made four pies, and I may still make a pumpkin roll.

    Cranberry-Hazelnut Pumpkin Pie

    Crust:
    2 c flour
    1 tsp salt
    1/4 tsp allspice
    3/4 c shortening
    4-5 tbsp cold water


    This recipe originally instructed the cook to separate the dough into two balls and refrigerate. I like a thin crust, and I have a zipper-bag designed to help you roll out the dough without having it stick and rip, so I can roll out my dough super thin. It’s up to you how thin you make the crust, but I can get four crusts out of this recipe, rather than the two it suggests.

    Sift the flour, salt and allspice into a bowl. Blend shortening into mixture with a fork until it resembles course oatmeal. Gradually add the water until the dough can be formed into a ball. You may not have to use all 5 tbsp of water. Divide the dough ball into half, thirds, or quarters, depending upon your preference to thickness and skill at rolling. Wrap balls in wax paper and put in fridge at least fifteen minutes.

    Preheat oven to 425 F.

    Cranberry spread:
    1 bag of fresh cranberries
    1 bag of crushed hazelnuts
    1/2 c brown sugar
    2 tsp vanilla


    Put cranberries and hazelnuts into food processor or blender in batches and process until cranberries are very small. Remove to bowl and mix in brown sugar and vanilla. Set aside. This is sufficient to make two or three pies depending upon you love of cranberries as opposed to your love of pumpkin pie.

    Pumpkin filling:
    2 lrg eggs
    1 c pumpkin puree
    1/4 c sugar
    1/4 tsp salt
    1/2 tsp cinnamon
    1/4 tsp ginger
    1/4 tsp nutmeg
    1/4 tsp cloves
    1/2 c evaporated milk


    This recipe is sufficient to make one pie, so double, treble, or quadruple as necessary. In large bowl, beat eggs lightly. Stir in puree, sugar, salt, and other seasonings. Feel free to change the measurements of the various seasonings to taste. I have a preference for ginger and cinnamon, so I doubled the amount of cinnamon as compared to the other seasonings, and I put in a heaping 1/4 tsp of ginger as opposed to a level 1/4 of the other spices. Mix well, then slowly add the evaporated milk, stirring until combined. Despite your best efforts at making puree, at this point you may find a few fibrous clumps. Just pull them out and throw them away. Set filling aside.

    Roll out pie dough and line pie plate. Spread your cranberry mixture over the bottom of the pie and pour the filling over all.

    Bake for 15 minutes at 425 F. Reduce to 350 F and bake an additional 40-50 minutes. I generally check with a toothpick after 30 minutes though. I live at a higher altitude and depending upon the weather, the pie may bake faster or slower. Cool on a wire rack. Just so you know, the pie will be indistinguishable from a regular pumpkin pie, so if you are making both regular and cranberry-hazelnut, you may want to indicate that somehow… you could save some dough and cut it into various shapes to put on top before baking.




    Peppermint Fudge

    1 12 oz bag of semisweet chocolate chips
    1 14oz can sweetened condensed milk
    2 tsp vanilla
    6 oz white chocolate chips
    1 tbsp peppermint flavor
    green food coloring


    Line a 8-9 inch pan with wax paper. Melt the semisweet chocolate over low heat with a little over half the sweetened condensed milk. I use a poor man’s double boiler, that is, a smaller pot inside a larger one with about an inch of water in the bottom to ensure the chocolate doesn’t burn. Add the vanilla.

    Take a little less than half the fudge and spread a layer on the bottom of your wax lined pan. It’s actually easier to do this with your hands, so make sure they are CLEAN. Then just smoosh the chocolate flat, fold the wax paper over to cover it and refrigerate for about 10 minutes. Believe me, you want more fudge left for the final step than less. It’s just easier that way. Cover the remaining chocolate on the stove with a lid and leave on the lowest setting. This won’t stop it from drying out around the edges or burning, so remember to stir it occasionally.

    Make another poor man’s double boiler and melt the white chocolate with the remaining milk. Stir in the peppermint and food coloring. I put in about five drops of coloring, but you don’t need to add any if you prefer. Remove the fudge from the fridge and spread the new layer over the cooled one. Fold the wax paper over the new layer and put back in the fridge for at least another 10 minutes. I say at least, but it’s been my experience that it takes longer than that for the new layer to cool sufficiently to add the final layer, which is why it’s important to keep that last layer of fudge warm in the pot. Just remember to stir it every few minutes to keep it evenly warm and prevent the vanilla from cooking back out.

    When the two layers are sufficiently cooled, spread the finally layer over the first two as best you can. It will not be easy to do it evenly and you may have to accept a bit of the flavored layer peeking out in places. Fold the wax paper back over the fudge and refrigerate for at least two hours. Turn the fudge onto a cutting board and peel off the wax paper before cutting.

    To make raspberry fudge, just use raspberry flavor and red food coloring instead of the peppermint and green coloring. Again, you don’t have to use food coloring at all if you don’t want to, though it does make it easier to tell one from the other if you make both. If you use the really good stuff though, your nose should be able to tell you which is which.

  • A Thought on a Past Life

    I’ve written about my past lives before. One in particular has always made me angry for the unfairness of my death. Not that death came to me fairly in (m)any of the lives I recall, but this one in particular has always rankled me. It has in fact made me quite biased towards the Christian Clergy.

    In most of my lives I have been murdered for one reason or another. Killed for convenience or to make a statement. The thing that has always bothered me about my past life in the 1100s however is that I feel to blame, at least partially, for the way I ended. I have drowned, starved, been pushed in a snake pit, strangled twice (and eaten by a crocodile the second time), stoned and set on fire, hanged by the neck until dead, died of stomach cancer, and jumped from a speeding car to escape my kidnappers, but approximately 900 or so years ago, I was stabbed in the back while I was drunkenly stumbling back to my room in the dark.

    Say what you will about my various deaths, there were none so ignoble as that death 900 years ago. I can’t narrow the area down better than saying it was somewhere in the north of England, somewhere near or possibly in Scotland. I was a bard and childhood friend of the lord of the area. I lived in his keep. I entertained his guests. I was part of his household.

    At that time, the Pagan religion was on the wain, mainly because it could give your “just” neighbors a reason to invade and take your lands “for God.” So for the sake of appearances, we were saddled with a weaselly, sour faced little priest who never was happy unless everyone around him was miserable. And I made it my mission in life to torment and belittle him to the amusement of all. I made a complete mockery of the little man and his faith.

    I had always thought it was him who stabbed me in the back, but I was reading today and the thought just came to me that maybe it wasn’t him. It doesn’t matter what I was reading beyond the fact that it used reincarnation as a central theme of the story. There’s no continuity between what I was reading and the errant thought that came to me as I stared at the page.

    I never saw who stabbed me in the dark. I was drunk. One reason I don’t drink now or in any way blunt my mind. Possibly a reason I don’t sleep soundly or for long. It was dark in the hall that led to my room. All the torches were out. Something that should have roused my suspicion, but I was drunk, and it did not. And then someone stabbed me in the back, low and on the left side. All this time, I thought it was the mealy mouthed little priest silencing his tormentor. But what if it wasn’t him.

    Curious I never had this thought before. I never thought anyone else would have reason to stab me in the dark, but it came to me while I was reading. There was one other person who would have had cause to kill me, if only to keep people from thinking he was hostile to Christianity. The thought made me cry because we were like brothers, but it could have been him. He laughed just like everyone else when I would make fun of the priest, but I knew it also made him anxious because the priest could call down our neighbors on us with little provocation. It could be that I was sacrificed on the altar of convenience once again.

    I don’t know who killed me 900 years ago, but this thought made me cry; it was such an aha moment. Why didn’t I ever think of it before? I’ll likely never know which of them it was, but in all this time I never even thought it could be anyone other than the priest. I should have. I feels like it could be a true thought, and I honestly don’t know if I cried because it is true, because he was like a brother to me and just the thought of such treachery hurts right down to my soul, or because it’s an uncharitable thought unworthy of our friendship.

    I just don’t know.

  • It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year

    October, that is. I love October. Well, I love autumn, but October specifically because Halloween (Samhain) is at the end of it.

    So I have this idea for a board game but I don’t know how to go about developing it or selling it to a game company like Parker Bros or whatever.  I doubt I could put it out myself, so developing it and selling the idea are probably my best bet.

    The Game of Life and Death

    So this would be a trivia board game. You’d basically have to get from one side of the board to the other, from home to some “safe point” like a police station, Church, or hospital, etc. And once there, you’d have to defend it from other players. The path would loop back and forth with shortcuts between each loop if you were brave enough to take them. Along the regular winding path would be random encounters which could cause you damage or conversion to a monster. These would be the “easy” trivia cards with less penalty. If you took a shortcut, you would automatically have to pull an encounter card and answer the trivia question correctly. If you got it wrong, you’d have to roll the dice to see whether you were injured (went back a loop), infected (became a monster), or killed (went back to start).  Once you became a monster, every time you overtook a human or vice versa, there would be a trivia question to see who survived the encounter, and the loser would have to go back a loop. If you made it to the safe point as a human, you’d have to defend it against monsters by asking them trivia questions when they arrived. If you made it to the safe point as a monster, you’d have to kill or infect any humans who made it by asking them trivia questions. The game would be over when either the monsters or the humans won. There could even be different themed games, like slasher flick, supernatural, zombie, aliens, Lovecraftian, ect.

    What do you think? Too complicated? It’s definitely too late to get something like that out by this Halloween, but maybe next. Or adapt it to a video game somehow, not that I’m at all clear on how that could happen. I’m more concerned about copyright infringement, but I’m pretty sure that trivia isn’t covered, only if I tried to use the likeness of specific monsters on the board or packaging.

    The Candy Horror


    I’d also like to create a line of horror themed candies. I want to create something called Soylent Green for the WTF factor. heh Maybe Soylent green could be green “white” chocolate bars with a dark chocolate fudge filling. Raspberry syrup filled dark chocolates could be BloodDrops. Crunchy bits of scale shaped toffee in white chocolate with dark chocolate bits could be Scales from the Black Lagoon. Brown (cinnamon flavored) cotton candy could be Hair of the Wolf (that bit you). Serpent’s Teeth could be marshmallow shaped like teeth and filled with green syrup venom. Hard candy bones in fun-dip dust could be the Mummy’s Bones. Translucent multicolored hard candies with liquid centers could be Zombie Eyes. Something akin to Cadbury cream eggs, but with a green/blue/black colored goo in the middle could be Alien Eggs.

    I think the candy would be more prone to copyright infringement than the game, but since I don’t even know how I’d go about developing either, it’s kind of moot. Any ideas?

  • Winter, bring it

    Enough! Enough!

    What the crap!

    Just when it’s been cool a couple days straight, and I start to think that maybe…. Maybe we’ll finally get the first frost, and I can stop taking my allergy medication, we get a warm snap and all the little pollinators start spurting their nasty little pollen granules into the air in a desperate attempt to impregnate their nearest neighbors before winter. Enough already you filthy ragweed, you grasses and skunk cabbages. chickweed and fleabane. You various other weeds in and around my house. Enough. I’ve gone through a forest of tissues already, and I love trees more than I love you, green and festive as you may be. I love you Nature, but it’s autumn and you’re killing me. Stop already.

    Bring on the frost.