June 9, 2010

  • The Great American vampire novel & other news

    So this is a weird new fact about me, and I don’t know what to make of it. I’m basically done with writing my novel, and I’m just editing now for typos and adverb usage (yes, I’m an adverb addict). I’m satisfied with the editing through Chapter 7… about 14 to go, so I may be looking for an agent as early as the end of June, barring more beta-reader feedback. But here’s the weird part, the main character of my novel is a living vampire, a moroi. She has to drink blood, but also must eat food according to the “bland diet” because the blood makes her system really acidic.

    Lately I have heartburn all the time, so I thought, well, I’m too acidic, I’ll try some more alkaline foods. Better than popping pills for it, that’s for sure, and d
    espite being labeled bland, most alkaline foods are actually rather sweet. It’s really helped me a lot, but it’s so bizarre that I’m having dietary issues like my character. (I swear I’m not drinking blood!) I even made my own avocado sauce to use in place of mayo and ketchup.

    Avocado cream cheese sauce
    • 1 cup mashed avocado
    • 1 8oz pkg of cream cheese
    • 3 tbsp lemon juice
    • 1 tsp minced onions
    • 1 tsp salt
    • dash Worcestershire sauce


    Mash avocado and add cream cheese, blending until smooth. Add other ingredients.

    I should say that I don’t really measure stuff. So I used two small avocados,  less lemon since I’m slightly allergic, and two dashes of Worcestershire sauce. I’ve used it on my veggie burgers and it was wonderful! Tried it in tuna salad… it was okay, not great, not bad. It was pretty good on some free range chicken, and I imagine it would be okay on fresh fish. On hot foods it tends to melt, otherwise its more of a mousse consistency. I’m going to try it on a cheese sandwich for lunch and tonight I’m making pizzas. I’ve never liked white pizza, but I’m thinking of trying my avocado sauce on the pizza instead of tomato sauce. We’ll see how that goes. Maybe I can start a new trend… green pizza. heh

    In other news:



    I had a second interview yesterday at a manor care facility for people with mental problems. I seem to have got the job because she was talking about someone calling in the next few days to set up orientation and asking about my schedule, but at the same time, she said she hadn’t checked my references yet. I have nothing to hide, but I’m kind of flummoxed about how these interviews have gone so far. My first trip over there, she forgot about me for an hour and in the meantime one of the residents came in muttering to himself and uh, reaching into his pants every 30 seconds. I don’t know that he was even aware I was in the room, but it was just a little bizarre. Then I had to bug my sister about a call back (she works there) because the woman told me she’d call on Friday but never did. She never did call me, but my sister talked to our mother and told me when my 2nd interview was. That was kind of… impersonal; thanks, sis. Now the woman hasn’t checked my references…? I don’t know… I’d prefer a relaxed setting considering how I was run roughshod
    over at Borders, but it just seems a little too laissez faire. I don’t expect to be called in a few days… maybe next week.

    I’ll be third shift if I got the job, when most though probably not all the residents will be asleep, and it will mostly be bed checks and cleaning, which I’m not at all worried about. To be honest, the building is more disturbing than the people that live there… it’s a big rambling thing like something out of The Shining. It used to be a nunnery where cholera patients were cared for. Supposedly it’s haunted though my sister, says she’s never seen anything. That doesn’t surprise me. If she ever had any psychic ability, she’s buried it under years of disbelief. She’s also a militant atheist. I pity my nephew. He’s only six, but he’s already afraid to talk to his mommy about things he’s seen. She won’t discuss it at all. Considering the kind of people she works with, you’d think she could be a little sympathetic, but on the other side of things, sometimes I think she worries he might have mental issues that would land him in the same kind of place she works. I think criticizing him to the point that he’s afraid to express himself is much more damaging though.

    Some good things about the job… I’d be required to learn CPR and some other medical stuff, which is always useful to know. The classes are made available to the staff, so I wouldn’t have to go out of my way to schedule at a college or something. Whatever else might be said about the place, it will be an “experience,” even if it doesn’t work out. It will be better than working at the bookstore was. Obviously if I’m working with people with mental conditions, it will be nice to know ahead of time instead of having it sprung on me in a retail setting! lol It’s certainly a more meaningful job than working in retail with ungrateful customers and corporate executives sending down ignorant edicts about how the business should be run. These are people who need someone to take care of them and see to their needs, not idiots who think I’m the next best thing to a slave for however long they choose to remain in the store. And I’m finally going to be working 3rd shift, which I’ve said since before I was even old enough to work would be my ideal work schedule.

    Edit: The avocado sauce is really gross as pizza sauce…

    And orientation for my new job is Monday morning. Tattoo is set to update automatically, but it probably won’t be until 6 or so that I get to update the Index.

Comments (11)

  • That job you’re looking at sounds pretty exciting, even though I don’t think I’d be cut out to work with patients with mental health problems–you’re far braver than I, and probably more well-equipped!

    Also, the novel you’re working on is sure to be an awesome one–I’ve never heard of a moroi before, but I’m sure they don’t angst or glitter in the sunlight, so they sound much, much cooler than Stephenie Meyer’s abominations.

    RYC: There really ARE some intellectually-lacking people out there, and they are the bane of my limited patience! >< And I’ve never bought into those ghost hunting shows either, they seem like more of a spectacle than anything else, so I have a hard time taking them seriously.

  • @ElusiveSoul - Moroii and strigoii (living and dead vampires) are found in Romanian folklore. All of my creatures are from folklore. :) I have other vampire breeds too… upir, snaxxar, and shapeshifters… boars, hyena (Bouda), bears, dingos (a nod to Charles de Lint), as well as other fairy-folk, like red-caps, ogres, and bean sidhe. My moroi is a little angsty, but she has a good excuse and she grows out of it. And there’s absolutely no glitter. She is quite vociferous about not being a “girly-girl.” heh My characters are not fluffy. I did initially have her criticizing Twilight during a discussion about books because she’s a bookworm, but I ultimately went with Dracula instead, since Stoker’s dead and won’t mind.

    Considering my house is haunted, I’d never want those ghost hunters irritating my ghosts and then leaving me to deal with them when they got to go home. I’ve been kicking around writing a short story about ghost hunters that antagonize the wrong ghosts and get their ghost hunting butts handed to them.

  • That job sounds like something I personally would stay away from, but I agree that will be an experience.  You can always get material for your next book! 

    And kudos on planning to look for an agent–that’s very exciting.  I was planning on getting back to you about it this weekend (my weekend, at least).

  • @heidenkind - I’m eager to hear what you thought of it. Though the first half has changed a great deal from what I sent you, the ending remains the same. Don’t be afraid to criticize anything you didn’t like. The professional critics will probably rip me to shreds if you don’t.

    I thought of the same thing if I go to work there. A writer writes what they know, so a new experience, even one that potentially takes me out of my comfort zone is all to the good. And who knows, maybe I’ll like it. Like I said, at least it’s helping people who actually need help. If nothing else, it gives me a leg up out of retail.

  • I don’t know if I would like working in a mental institution since I tend to pick up on things.  I think that’s for stronger people than me.  Doesn’t sound like it’s very organized if someone forgot about you and your interview.  What if at the end of the day they realized they had an extra person…  they might think you were a patient! 
    Good luck on the book.

  • @NightlyDreams - I know, right?
    All I could think about was it would be very easy to lose a body for a
    couple days if someone murdered me and shoved me in a closet or under a
    bed! lol

    But it’s not actually a mental institution. It’s more of a
    halfway house. They aren’t patients. The staff ferries them to and from
    appointments with doctors and such, but they aren’t treated on site.
    It’s just where they live. Think of it as an assisted living facility
    for “harmless” mental patients instead of old folks.

  • @harmony0stars - sounds like the start to a good mystery book

  • I hope you get the job. The place itself sounds like it could be inspiring on several levels for a writer. It surely would be an interesting experience at the least.

    Those girls in the Shining FREAK ME OUT! So Thanks for that at 157 am.

     Yah I’m gonna turn out the light now. Heh heh. Where are my dogs, they need to be on this bed one on either side, lol.

  • @tatertot1972 - Yeah, you know I always thought they were the creepiest thing about the movie too. The remake wasn’t nearly was scary.

  • The new job sounds like a blessing. Sounds plenty difficult physically and possibly emotionally, but definitely more meaningful. My best friend from my (last) hometown was a nurse’s aide in a nursing home and now does orderly-type stuff to put herself through nursing school. I respect that kind of “real” work.
    Your avocado dip sounds delicious, but yeah, not so much on pizza. I don’t like fresh tomatoes, but I love tomato sauce and salsa. On the rare occasion that I eat pizza, I’m a tomato girl all the way!

  • @BoureeMusique - Yeah, I’m looking for a challenge at this point and to have my work actually be important to someone, even if it’s someone who’s less likely to even be aware of what I do for them.

    I wish I wasn’t allergic to tomatoes. :( I can have a little now and then, spaghetti maybe once every other week. When I was a kid, before I knew I was allergic, I’d have tomato sandwiches. Yum :)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *