July 19, 2007

  • Anyone miss me?

    Wow…. so it’s been almost a year and a half since I last posted. Obviously I survived my birthday, and the next. This past birthday wasn’t too bad. I got an IPod, which is all that I asked for. I adore my IPod. I was just thinking about IPOD cases and had a great idea…. NoIdea.gif image by harmony0stars an IPod case in the form of a big stuffed animal. You would slide the IPod into the belly of the beast (as it were) and then you could cuddle your IPod. Eh… is there such a thing as loving your IPod too much? If only I was better at sewing. I’m not a bad seamstress, but certainly not up to par for making a stuffed animal IPod holder. I hope no one steals my idea…. because then I might have to buy their creation.

    Let’s see…. since the last time I posted I got a promotion at work (Borders). That was way back in October 2006. That’s kept me quite busy which is one of the reasons I haven’t been around. I’m now the merch supervisor, a fancy title meaning: “the one who makes the store all perty.” I’m making more money now than I ever have before, which is really not saying a lot since I still can’t afford to live on my own even as frugal as I am, but maybe in a few years after a few raises…

    I have managed to put away a little money every paycheck (as well as pay a little extra on remaining bills), so hopefully when I am ready, no new emergency bills will have reared their ugly heads. Doesn’t it always seem like you finally manage to get ahead and put away a little money for a rainy day and then that rainy day turns out to be a flood? Well, I hope I don’t get any floods any time soon.

    If it wasn’t for my micromanaging manager, my job would be a cake walk. For the most part, I just have to put up the various displays as corporate dictates, but my immediate manager (one-of-three) constantly seems to be doing my job. She’s constantly either doing my job for me or going back over what I’ve done and changing it. It’s infuriating. While my predecessor may have been alright with that kind of “leadership,” I like to think that I can do my job well and I don’t need a babysitter. To be completely honest, I really don’t know what her job is. All she ever does is my work. I’ve complained to my general manager about it, but I just really can’t put into words how much my evil overlord irks me.

    Ah so anyway… Harry Potter gets released tomorrow night. As much as I love the series and really just books in general Read.gif image by harmony0stars, I am just not looking forward to the feeding frenzy. Last year I volunteered to cashier (since I’m speedy) and this year I have as well. I may not be as badly agoraphobic as I used to be (like shaking in a corner physically ill, turn out the lights and leave me alone), but that doesn’t mean I want to be surrounded by the crush of a couple thousand people as they surge to and fro like a hungry sea. Honestly people, calm down. It’s a book and not a particularly well written one. Entertaining, sure, but nothing special. It’s what I like to call a popcorn novel…. something to consume with little content to weigh you down. They’re good, but nothing to go gonzo over. It certainly doesn’t compare to the Hobbit or Sherlock Holmes. If we’re talking about children’s books, Artemis Fowl has more merit or Barker’s Abarat. Harry Potter is of course way better than Paolini’s books (I can’t understand the hype with those stinkers), but it’s time to get over it people.

    In short, there’s no reason you should be keeping me up till 4 in the morning because you need a book the second it’s released.

    I’m so very happy that there are still people in the world who read, and who get excited about the release of a book, but go to bed and get it in the morning!

    Another book people should get over is The Secret.  This book is to literature what Spam is to emails. Antispam.gif image by harmony0stars The secret is…. it’s no secret, and if you thought it was, then you’re obviously not bright enough to be trusted with it. It’s getting to the point that I loathe Oprah. First she unloaded Dr Phil on us, and now The Secret. Argggg! Stop it. I should write a self-help/metaphysics book called You Don’t Need This Book, But Buy It Anyway. If I could get Oprah to plug it, I’d be an overnight millionaire. Dr Phil’s a big bully and his books make me cringe almost as much as Schlessinger, Coulter, or Savage. Granted some people need to be ordered around because they can’t be trusted to make adult decisions, but I really didn’t think there were enough to make Dr Phil such a big man. But I should have known better with as popular as talkshows are. Blech BS.gif image by harmony0stars

    So I guess I’ll try to update on Sunday if I survive the final chapter in the life of the Harry Potter. 

    Needsleep.gif image by harmony0stars

    To all those planning on going to one of the international Potter Parties…. just try to treat your booksellers kindly. You have NO IDEA what we’re going through over this or what we’ve already been through. It’s almost worse than the holiday season. hide.gif image by harmony0stars

Comments (7)

  • I thought you were bragging a bit when I read your comment, but now that I visited your site I will retract that. I agree with a lot of what you are saying. I enjoyed Abarat as a book when I read it to my children and it is far more interesting than harry Potter could ever be.

    Finally I find another person who know that the Secret is not great secret and that even if you give it to people they will still manage to mess up the concepts. The Secret is like many religions…if it does not work like it says it does then there must be something wrong with you. I personally think it is going to create on the long run more harm than good.

    So I hope you write more often and visit often to comment.

  • wow its great to see you again

    :)

    I have missed reading your views

  • I understand completely. They want it now so that they can say they finished ot before anyone else -_-

  • So nice you came by! :) I am not “into” Harry Potter much. But I totally love my Borders employees! I imagine they have many nights pondering why they do what they do….but I am so thankful for them! :)

  • I usually wait a little while to get the Potter books.  I’ll get this one, eventually, but only because I have the others.

    This is nevrsdreamlog btw!

  • i never got into harry potter. so i won’t be bugging anyone for it. i have a friend who’ll be up getting it i’m sure.
    i think you’re ipod idea is great. if they would come up with something like that i would buy it too. i also might then get an ipod. i also can’t afford to liveon my own but i’m thinking of moving TODAY.

  • Thank you so much for your thoughts on my well question! Also, thanks for subscribing – I have enjoyed your entries here and am reciprocating in kind.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *